2018-2019 ADTA Executive Council and Awards


The ADTA held its 77th Annual Meeting at the beautiful, brand new Fairmont Austin Hotel in Austin, TX.  If you missed it, you missed an exceptional CLE Program and a delightful time.  You also missed Tom in his dynamic sequin jacket worn for the Denim and Diamonds Gala on Saturday night.  Sunglasses were needed.  


Immediate Past President Thomas J. Hurney, Jr and President James D. Holland

                                         2018-2019 Officers (Ed Birk not in photo)
Immediate Past President, Thomas J. Hurney, Jr. conducted the general meeting along with the Saturday Business Meeting.  During the Business Meeting the following were approved for the 2018-2019 Executive Council:  
     James D. Holland, Page, Kruger and Holland, P.A., Jackson, MS

President Elect: 
      Lori V. Berke, Berke Law Firm, PLLC,  Phoenix, AZ

Vice President: 
             Edward L. Birk, Marks Gray, P.A., Jacksonville, FL

       Jams P. Craig, Lederer Westin & Craig, PLC., Cedar Rapids, IA

       Dyan J. Ebert,  Quinlivan & Hughes, P.A., St. Cloud, MN

Immediate Past President:
      Thomas J. Hurney, Jr., Jackson Kelly PLLC, Charleston, WV

Assistant Secretary: 
       Peggy L. Schultz, ADTA, New Port Richey, FL
                                                                               Executive Council

Class of 2021
Clayton U. Hall, Hall, Hieatt & Connely, LLP, San Luis Obispo, CA
Judd R. Uhl, Lewis Brisbois Bisgaard & Smith LLP, Ft. Wright, KY
Monté L. Williams, Steptoe & Johnson PLLC, Bridgeport, WV
Class of 2020 
 Brooks R. Magratten, Pierce Atwood, Providence, RI
 J. Burruss "Buzzy" Riis, Hand Arendall, P.L.L.C., Mobile, AL
 Kasey Townsend, Murchinson & Cummings, Rockford, IL

 Class of 2019
 Denise Anderson, Butler Weihmuller Katz Craig LLP, Tampa, FL
 James B. Hood, The Hood Law Firm, Charleston, SC
 Steven Schlitz, Weld, Riley, Prenn & Ricci, SC, Eau Claire, WI
2018 "Strubinger" Award Recipient

Dan D. Kohane
Dan with Hurwitz & Fine, P. C. received nominations from Richard Traub, Claudia Baio, Matthew Bailey and Evelyn Fletcher Davis.
Congratulations Dan!
There were four additional finalists receiving recognition:
            R. Bruce Barze, Jr.
            Jeffery Carlson
            J. D. Feriancek
            James B. Hood
We are thankful for each of their efforts in making very worthy referrals.  This is what ADTA is all about.  Thanks to each of you. 
President's Special Recognition Award

Robert E. Tait

President Tom Hurney presented a special award this year to Bob Tait who has carried the torch for the ADTA in multiple ways over the year.  He exemplifies the definition of a dedicated ADTA member.  Recently Bob undertook the huge task of updating the ADTA History Book.  Congratulations Bob!

About ADTA

An ADTA prime membership is, in essence, a statement of the high regard in which defense trial attorneys are held by his or her peers in the defense trial bar of their city and state or province.